From the first chords of “Who are you,” I run from my room to jump on the couch. Ah time to relax! Nowadays I rarely watch “idiot-box”, but Crime Scene Investigation (the original) manages to pull me away from the routine of my school life and into the surreal life of science and the process of human thinking that attracts me so much. Well, I should admit, sometimes it also works as an excuse to slack off from my homework. clip_image0021.jpg


At first, it was a challenge for me to admit that I actually like soap-operas, or the series. My mother, quite fond of soap-operas, drove me absolutely insane by limiting my TV time back home. It always irritated me that a plot that could be told in 3 hours had to be stretched for 2.5 years. However CSI went beyond my expectations! A mini movie that runs for an hour (with our favorite commercial interruptions) contains the psychological and scientific method of crime solving by the crew of forensics: Grissom, Catherine, Warrick, Nick, Sara and detective Jim. However, despite the bright and interesting characters, the show focuses specifically on the process of crime solving. Hi-tech technology and a mixture of science and justice spice up the show quite effectively.  

Of course we can all argue that TV is flunked with typical crime-solving, order-protecting, justice-bringing shows. Law and order, The Closer, and NCIS are only a few examples of the genre that is rocking TV listings nowadays. However CSI clearly differs from all of the above. Though I have heard many arguments that movies of this genre might lead us to lose the value of human life; eventually we will all be guinea pigs, cut open and examined. My answer: don’t watch TV in that case. Death is all over the TV programs and people should find the capability of separating the celebrity life from the real.  But there is something more to CSI: the cloud of innocence of this movie. I guess it raises the belief that justice always wins, good defeats evil and everything will be OK. Thus, is it really right to say that CSI emerges me in the unreal life, creating an atmosphere of reality? I guess. Maybe that is the reason I run from my room to jump on the couch.